Before using this function, it is recommended that you back up any data and applications that you like to use on your new BlackBerry smartphone. For information on how to back up and restore your smartphone using BlackBerry® Desktop Software for Windows® or Mac, review the product documentation for your specific version of BlackBerry Desktop Software at http://docs.blackberry.com.
Another thing to note is that this process may take about an hour to complete if the BlackBerry smartphone has encryption enabled. If this is the case, review the user guide for your particular device to identify how to disable encryption before completing these steps.
To initiate a security wipe, complete the following steps:
- On the BlackBerry smartphone, select Options from the home screen.
- Select Security Settings, then Security Wipe.
- Specify what items will be wiped during this process by checking off the boxes.
- Enter “blackberry” (field is not case-sensitive) and select Wipe.
- The BlackBerry smartphone will reset a few times, and after this process is complete, it will no longer contain any of your personal data.
If you are replacing or upgrading your device and you have a carrier BlackBerry email account, you will need to contact your wireless service provider to disassociate the account from the smartphone in order to prevent messages from being sent to your old device.